“Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s learning to dance in the rain.”

IMG_3683-001

 

Yesterday, Hadassah had to have a minor operation on one of her legs. Previously, an event like this would have been particularly daunting as I’d have no means to prepare her for what was going to happen. This time, through some sign and the use of a book about children going to hospital for various reasons, she knew to expect to be starved from the night before, and it was just very empowering to be able to inform her through every step of a rather long and uncomfortable day.

This morning, she protested about going to school, and insisted on staying in bed through very clearly signing, “Mamma, I can’t walk, my leg is sore.” So, home she stayed, and I thought I’d get some emailing and a bit of blogging done while she rests next to me. No such luck. I started a blog, and between the first two sentences, I had been asked for honey on toast, which was then changed to cheese after the honey toast was made. She then insisted that the cheese be melted. She asked for the book with the “two bears who were having a party,” got busy with some sand art and instructed me precisely about every particular colour that she wanted in a particular spot. She demanded green juice, chocolate cake, 9 green sweeties and a strawberry yoghurt. She then explained to me that she can’t sign property as her one hand is “broken” (it adorns a ‘princess’ plaster after having a little drip inserted yesterday). A very busy demanding little patient, clearly communicating her every desire in spite of one “broken” hand. Her beloved teddy bear, Benjamin, has needed to be bandaged over and over, and every one of his wishes has also been clearly communicated by his doting mother! She now wants to cuddle her little orange swan down chick that she got for Easter, and has just mentioned that she doesn’t think that she’s quite ready yet to give up her night time nappy.

I was on the brink of getting frustrated by the continuous demands and interruptions whilst mid-sentence in an email a few hours ago, when the reality of this unlimited communication became apparent. My daughter is being a four year old princess, demanding, fussing, and just being cute. I am able to communicate with her, like any mother would with her daughter – what a pleasure! My skills at one-handed sign reading are improving whilst my ears are learning what certain mispronounced words mean. This little munchkin has now fallen asleep, allowing me to make this entry – how far she has come!

3 thoughts on ““Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s learning to dance in the rain.”

  1. Wonderful, yes, it helps to step back and see how far they have come and how much early intervention and communication has helped. I have two chatter-boxes (10 years), and it is a delight to see their language and thinking in action.

  2. Hi, I’m a new reader of your blog, although I met you many years ago ( it was in passing and I don’t think you would remember me). At first my heart was sore for you, then the more I read, the more I see the grace and beauty that is this story of you and the three precious girls. This couldn’t have been affirmed more this evening after I read a letter written by Helen Keller on one of the greatest composers of all time, Beethoven. An excerpt of it below reads:
    “….As I ( Helen Keller) listened, with darkness and melody, shadow and sound filling all the room, I could not help remembering that the great composer who poured forth such a flood of sweetness into the world was deaf like myself. I marvelled at the power of his quenchless spirit by which out of his pain he wrought such joy for others—and there I sat, feeling with my hand the magnificent symphony which broke like a sea upon the silent shores of his soul and mine.”
    http://www.lettersofnote.com/2014/03/my-heart-almost-stood-still.html

    Thank you for sharing your journey – it’s beautiful.

    Karabo

Leave a Reply

