“On the other side of fear, lies freedom.”

Writing and posting up these blog posts has been a somewhat cathartic process. Having a space to express my thoughts and struggles, admit my short comings and put words to my hope, is a wonderful blessing. It’s also through remembering what has happened in just on 8 months now, that I am able to reflect on this journey thus far, and truly appreciate the absolute treasures and miracles that have been dotted along the way.  So much has happened, so much has changed, and yet so much is still to happen and change in the future.  There are parts about certain aspects of the future that are still daunting, but I do not feel alone as I did when this journey started, which was the most daunting aspect by far.

Making my story public, and deciding to allow parts of my heart and head to be on exhibition, is a rather intimidating process.  Every now and then when my stats pop up, I am reminded that it is not just this laptop screen that is listening to my thoughts and sharing my journey, but many people have stumbled upon this blog in one way or another.  Sometimes, I’m tempted to close up and hide, in a moment of feeling vulnerable.  The wonderful comments, “likes” and encouragement that are posted with every post remind me of why I take the time to splash my fears and victories onto this screen. So thank you for those! I’m hoping that our story will encourage parents of deaf children, and challenge medical professionals to be better at handling families that have children with hearing loss. I’ve also wanted to let everyone else who’s interested, have a peek into this reality, and by default, I’ve found a place to spill out that which threated to boil over.

I received a message recently that came through this blog that really touched my heart and gave me a perspective that my story has common threads with the stories of others, far beyond what I had ever imagined…that the story of love, hope, challenges, disappointments and overcoming obstacles goes far beyond the realm of deafness.

Another South African family with a similar background to ours, has two precious and much loved children, a little girl of 3 ½ and a baby who is 6 months old.  Both their children have something called, Leber’s Congenital Amaurosis, a condition that has essentially left both of them legally blind.  Their mother shared some of their experiences with me and made me realize that our journeys have had parallel aspects.  It was very special to hear someone who has experienced similar pain, yet also has similar hope, just share that with me, and express how reading about my story gave her a reason to feel less lonely on her journey as a mother of children with special needs.  I’m excited to get to know them better with time. She has also started a blog which can be found at:  http://www.youcaring.com/tuition-fundraiser/help-hannah-and-daniel/119848 Please follow this and support them where possible.

If making our story transparent and public, helps ease the pang of loneliness just a little, for just one person, I’d say it’s worth the intimidation of the raw vulnerability that I sometimes feel as I click on the “publish” icon.

3 thoughts on ““On the other side of fear, lies freedom.”

  1. Bee, your bravery in telling your family’s story is teaching all of us – professionals in the field as well as families of children with challenges. Thank you for allowing us to share your journey.

  2. It has also been a healing process for you B and an absolute inspiration to so many, keep going you are being blessed

Leave a Reply

