“Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time,and always start with the person nearest to you.” Mother Theresa

IMG_1967

My little Hadassah is the kind of person who likes getting things right.  She is very determined and rather observant; she will observe something a few times and then try, and try she will until she’s satisfied.  It’s been so sweet to watch her learn sign language, as she’s always quick to gently correct and help her sisters (and even her parents) with signs that, she thinks, can be signed better. In this picture she’s doing just that with Tahlita. She was starting to show her how to sign “turtle”.

When I start thinking about what’s important to teach my children, kindness, is right up there at the top of the list. Of course language helps in explaining why this is important, or discussing stories about other heroes who were kind or simply teaching them to share.  I’m grateful that this quality is not one that is totally dependent on language.  You can observe and act out kindness without a single word or sign.  I came across this next quote which is all about being kind.  It’s a real twist on the way that I used to see things, but so true and refreshing. “I don’t think the worst thing that could happen to me is raising a child with special needs.  I think a worse thing is to raise a child who is not kind to those with special needs.” I’m now so grateful for the other little kiddies that attend their school who have other special needs apart from hearing loss.  Their little lives are as precious and purposeful as my 3 girls’, and the wealth about life, love and kindness that my girls can learn from them, is not something that can be captured in, or learned from, a text book.

2 thoughts on ““Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time,and always start with the person nearest to you.” Mother Theresa

  1. Bianca, thank you for sharing your stories and your journey with us. Each one is an inspiration and I admire your positive attitude. Your girls are so lucky to have a mom like you. Xxx

Leave a Reply

