“The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not to twist them to fit our own image. Otherwise we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them.” Thomas Merton ~No man is an island.

IMG_1934

My girls love signing “I love you!” Eden is so funny, as she doesn’t quite get it right, and knows it… she usually turns to me or either of her sisters, for help in folding her chubby little fingers into position, which is usually accompanied with excited giggling.  What I love about Merton’s quote is that it rightfully expresses a challenge that I faced when embracing the world of the deaf.  The challenge of acceptance: just letting go, allowing my girls to just be who they are;  deaf/hard-of-hearing, signers/speakers or both. I think that the very decision in doing this spells out LOVE. They seem so much happier within themselves since starting to learn to communicate better and since we have embraced the freedom that acceptance brings. I also think that Audrey Hepburn was right when she said that, “happy girls are the prettiest”.

 

4 thoughts on ““The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not to twist them to fit our own image. Otherwise we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them.” Thomas Merton ~No man is an island.

  1. Bianca, your little ladies have moved forward so quickly thanks to the amazing acceptance and all-encompassing love that you and Graeme have shown!

  2. Hi Bianca, this is the most amazing beautiful blog. I love the Merton quote, it is really profound.
    I am a deaf dad with twin hearing girls. Thank you for sharing your experiences, keep blogging,
    I also find it healing to blog.

Leave a Reply

