“We do not see things as they are, we see things as WE are.” ~ Anais Win

3 thoughts on ““We do not see things as they are, we see things as WE are.” ~ Anais Win

  1. I really love this photo! It is so special and is an amazingly different perspective to the initial feeling of dread felt by so many first time hearing aid users ( and their parents!).

  2. Hi Bianca, I am hard of hearing myself, was born with nerve damage in both ears and my mom only found out when I was over the age of 1 years old. I have a 50% hearing loss in both ears. I’ve never labelled myself as disabled or special needss. I am now 37 years of age, went to a special school for hard of hearing children, Mary Kihn in Cape Town. Then moved onto normal hearing schools. I have been working and people don’t treat me any differently. I do however say that once I came to the uk on a 2 year working visa that the uk does definitely support hard of hearing people a lot of than South Africa does, in the sense that all banks and most shops in uk have the t-loop facility for hearing aid wearers etc. they have subtitled movies and television which does help a lot.
    I do take my hat off to you and your husband for raising 3 hard of hearing / deaf children.
    Don’t let what other people say get to you, people can be cruel and hurtful. They say theses things as they don’t understand it all.
    You have done the best thing ever for your girls by giving them the opportunity to hear by getting them hearing aids.

    If you would like to get in touch, don’t hesitate, I can assist where I can.
    All the best for the future and take it one day at a time.

    Kind regards

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

